Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in

touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Smartphones have become for adults indispensable devices that most of us can not imagine our life without. While such devices are safe for adults, it could be problematic for children. some parents prefer to allow their children to own them but others prefer to forbid it. reasons to forbid are well know, mostly because is too distracting for them and second radio signals could be dangerous for young children. personally I think we should allow children to own personal smartphones because, one reason is children safety and second it has become a standard way of communication even between children of the same age.

Children safety is probably the main concern and stress reason for a parent. From an early age a parent will invest a lot of money and energy in it. Smartphones offers a possibility to stay always connected with your child and for this reason parent will feel safer when he knows where his child is. Although that might be a false impression it is still better than not knowing anything. I don't have a personal experience where smartphones was critical for safety, but I have read articles where children called police in a critical moment, thus children avoided an injury. I have two seven months daughters that are too small to own a smart phone but I definitely feel the need to protect them.

Secondly apart from being useful, smartphones are fun, that is why most children are addicted to them. I saw many children that spend too much time on such devices and that is probably a concern for a parent. Doctors recommend to limit our time spend on smartphones especially, but completely forbidding such a device doesn't mean children will suddenly read more books or spend more time with their parents.

In my experience when I visited friends with young children, child spend time on his phone when he felt ignored. I always asked them about their books or plays and he would immediately forget about phone and spend time with me.

In conclusion I think we should not forbid young children smartphones because such devices could help in a state of stress and second smartphones are becoming mainstream that as a parent we can stop it.