Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern world, thanks to these new technologies, there are quite a lot of distractions for children. It is a great challenge for parents to make their children concentrated on their education and encourage them to do better in their schools. While some believe that it is a good idea to pay money to children for their high scores, others think otherwise. I subscribe to the latter view. I believe that encouraging children to do better in their grades by using money will not be beneficial for children. The reasons why I believe so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, by doing so, children start to think that they should be rewarded for everything, and if they do not get rewards, they feel like they have been punished. If they get money for their high scores, they want money for every good thing they do after a while. Maybe, they expect money on even ordinary tasks, such as brushing their teeth at night or having breakfast before school. My own experience demonstrates this reality. When I was a child, there was a boy who lived next to our house. His parents gave him valuable rewards and good money every time he got a high score in school. After a few months, he expected more money and better gifts every time, and when he did not get any, he felt being punished and behaved in the wrong way.

Second, these types of actions will have a harmful effect on the child's mind. He or she thinks that money is the most important thing to earn, and is the ultimate goal of every attempt. If they get money as rewards every time they get a good score, and since they want to spend that money, they will be tempted to have more and more money. After a few years, they realize that there are easier ways to achieve their primary goal--money. They might get involved in illegal works, or even crimes, just to make money. The statistics have shown that there is a high rate of criminal actions in children of families that try to motivate their young boys or girls by money.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that families should not pay to their children as a result of their schools' good performance. If they do so, they will lead children to expect rewards for everything. Also, there is a chance that those children end up being criminals, in order to make more money.