Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

With no doubt, the good education of students is a universal concern for parents. The question is that whether giving money to the children when they get a high score is a good idea or not. Parents can weigh the pros and cons of each side. In my opinion, if parents sometimes praise their children with money, it will have a good effect on their education.

First, children cannot realize the importance of education in early ages. They really need to be praised for their activities in order to understand that they are doing well. Moreover, it gave them a lot of motivation. For example, I remember myself in elementary school. When my teacher had given me some praise cards or stars, I became so happy. If parents gave money to their children as a prize, they would become so excited, because they do not have any income at that age. Besides, children feel responsible for their money, because they tried hard to achieve it. It is similar to the situation they would have in the future.

Second, it is good to help children feel independent and confidence from the young ages. By giving them money and letting them decide what to do with their money, we would help them grow. For instance, the first time my father decided to give money to my sister, she spent whole money on buying clothes because she was so excited. But after a while, she tried to pay more attention how to spend it. In other words, she learned how to manage her money.

Third, although there are a lot of advantages in giving children prizes, parents should be careful in order not to make children conditional. To make it clear, if parents keep doing this all the time, children would not study in a situation that there is no money. As I mentioned before, it is good that parents do it just sometimes, when children need motivation and stimulus for doing their tasks.

Considering the arguments in favor and against the issue, I mostly believe, if parents try to do it in a right way, there will be a lot of advantages for children.