Some people believe that friendships become stronger when friends enjoy good times together Others believe that friendships become stronger when friends talk about their problems with each other and support each other Which of these two approaches do you

Close friendships do not just happen. Many of us struggle to develop quality connections. When it comes to whether having a good time together or helping a friend solve a problem contributes to a stronger friendship, in my case, I think the latter is more effective because it prompts more attention to each other and provides more opportunities for listening and further communication.

First, the process of helping a friend solve a problem involves staying focused on each other, which serves to strengthen the friendship. Unlike dealing with a friend's suffering, playing together may have your eyes on the fun itself more than on having fun together with friends, such as spotting a new bag while shopping or watching a movie together in spectacular scenes. However, when you help a friend solve a problem, you may not look into your own relevant story or other things unrelated to your friend, but instead, concentrate on your friend's situation until they feel better. This kind of attention to your friend will help them feel genuinely cared for and understood, which in turn may boost mutual bonding.

Furthermore, a warm listening process is essential to strengthening the friendship relationship, which is the main procedure when helping a friend solve a problem. Oftentimes, there may be plenty of companions who can laugh together, and often very few friends who are actually ready to listen to them. Ask your friend what is wrong, and then listen carefully to the answer. Let them vent their fears, frustrations, and other important feelings, maintain eye contact, show that you are interested in what they have to say, and offer suggestions when asked. This kind of companionship is more likely to deepen the relationship by making your friend trust and depend on you more than if you were playing and laughing together.

Last but not least, after listening, the process of helping friends brainstorm solutions will facilitate mutual communication and further exploration of possible approaches. You can take a quiet moment with your friend, away from the hustle and bustle of the crowd, and help your friend brainstorm on a specific issue. You can work together on some feasible ideas and examine their pros and cons, exchanging opinions with each other. Of course, this does not mean that you go about judging your friend's behavior at will, but rather that you should leave the ownership to your friend, as it is their business after all. Such intimate communication will make your friends feel supported and respected, thus deepening your friendship.

In summary, considering more attention to each other, more listening and communication processes, helping friends solve problems, and providing support will be more beneficial to deepen the friendship than just laughing together.