Traditions are defined as customary or established ways of doing things in a family community or culture Some people believe that it is important to follow traditions even when those traditions conflict with or are quite different from their own individua

Undeniable, if people do not obey traditions in their families or communities, it may lead to discontent, misunderstanding or even resentment from their families. Led by this fact, some credulous people generate the opinion that everyone must follow traditions even if those traditions do not match their own preference. However, before reaching a conclusion, a conscientious examination should be conducted. When it comes to social development, mental health, and interpersonal relationship, I firmly believe that we should follow our own preference in future development.

First, most of the traditions and customs are not in line with modern development trends of society. These customs were created dozens or even hundreds of years ago, while with the rapid progress of globalization on the basis of technological development, we now live in a much faster-paced and more diverse world, which is completely different from the era when our parents and grandparents were born. The old ideology was created to serve for the old order, like feudalism or slavery. However, since we always keep up with the development of society, our preferences and choices are more suitable for the rapid-paced world. As a result, we ought to make decisions for ourselves and integrate into this new society, rather than following those out-dating customs.

Second, obeying traditions but ignoring personal interest would cause severe mental problems, since people cannot get what they really want. To take the case of my friends Teddy, a typical 25 years old young people with an engineering Bachelor degree, he went back to his hometown after graduating due to the tradition of his family that everyone in the family must live together. Because his family lived in a small village with few industries, Teddy could not find a job that fitted his specialty, and ended up driving trucks transporting grain. However, his dream was always becoming an excellent engineer and working in a big company. As a result, after going back to his family, he fell into depression very soon and there was no smile on his face any more. If he could make the choice for himself, he would likely have become an outstanding engineer and keep upbeat forever just like in the collage.

A voice arises that if we resist traditions, our relatives will not understand us, and it is probably bring distance between family members. Ironically, if we always follow these out-dating customs, we may lose more friends and it is detrimental to our interpersonal relationship. We may have to move to a new city, find a job that we are not interested in, or have a strange habit. People may think we are strange. Then we cannot maintain our social relationship well. Meanwhile, what we should do is helping our family step into the new society and abolish those old customs, and then we can keep a tight family relationship and do what we actually want to at the same time.

In conclusion, considering social development, mental health, and interpersonal relationship, I strongly hold the opinion that we ought to resist those traditions that do not meet our own preferences.