Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things related to schoolwork.

Without any shadow of doubt, family is a pivotal component of the society, and parents’ role is significantly important in children’s lives. As far as I am concerned, it is vital for parents to allocate adequate time to play with their children. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To start with, doing recreational activities have positive impact on children’s self-confidence. Many researches demonstrate that there are solid relationships between fun physical activities and self-confidence. When parents consider a free time for having fun with their children by engaging them in games or sports, it consolidates the sense of belonging and being important in youngsters. They recognize that however their parents are busy; they still can make some time for the children. It positively affects their personality, and consequently, they will be more confident in their adulthood.

Furthermore, having fun through spending time on playing sports and games, leads children to push back the frontiers of their interpersonal skills. Generally, busy parents are out of the house, and their children are alone in home. As a result, they do not develop well-established social skills, and will face challenges when they are grownups. There are many physical activities, which could happen in a social context. For instance, playhouses are places in which parents and children could spend time together, while meeting other families. This would help children to learn how to react in social situation, and how make new friends. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a little girl, we used to go to a park with wonderful playhouse with my family, so my brother and I could have fun with our parents, as well as finding other kids to play with them. At first, it was devastating for me to start a conversation with other children. However, by my mother’s encouragement, I took some steps and enjoyed playing with others.

In conclusion, I am of the view that parents who have a hectic life should have in mind to consider specific time for their children doing activities such as sports and games. This is because it helps their children to have higher self-confidence, and gives them the opportunity to enhance their social skills. Children are the gift of life, we should be sensitive how we are treating them.