Some people say that Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. others think access to much information creates problems. Which one do you agree with?

By and large, with the advent of Internet people's ways of living have revolutionized appreciably. Thanks to its rapid growth which provides prevalent accessibility to a massive range of information for all the people in all over the world. Nowadays Internet affords not only invaluable information but also a colossal range of successful business. A long-lasting and controversial question regarding this issue which has always caused drastic contention among academicians is that the considerable range of Internet-based information is reliable or not. The majority of people contend that there is no doubt in the reliability of Internet-based information, while others believe that a significant amount of information is incorrect and they bring some major problems. I admit that both of them have simultaneously advantages and disadvantages, so I believe that the issue needs to clarify using bilateral analyses. In the following, I will aptly elaborate on my perspective using two substantial and compelling reasons.

No one can deny the significant influence of academicians on the wide range of provided information on Internet. As a matter of fact, everyone who has an academic education can access to internet and create his/her own website in order to provide useful information in their fields of study. Therefore, this capability allows Internet to give users the myriad range of information in all the fields. Internet is more and more valuable, especially for students to acquire correct information for their research projects. Take a personal experience as an example to enlighten this perspective much better. When I was a freshman, I had been working to complete my paper for more than one year. The procedure of the project had been already stopped because of the fact that I could have not found appropriate information related to my paper. After that, I had attended to my supervisor who had told me to find suitable Internet-based information. Only after one click had I found quite a lot of useful materials. My personal experience demonstrates that I would not have finished my paper had other people not provided the authentic information in their websites.

Another indisputable cause that convinces me to hold the other possibility that implies some people are concerned about the problems that they might have faced when they use the Internet-based information is substantiated in the following. It is an undeniable fact that, although the information is provided mostly by educated persons, there is much inauthentic information on internet which is readily accessible. One of the well-known websites is Wikipedia that is usable and editable by all the users. Recently, I have heard that some users write incorrect information in Wikipedia or in their own websites intentionally for some mysterious political reasons. This occurs because there is no strong policy to prevent people from doing that. Existing of incorrect information on internet that are used by people, especially students and professors, leads to encounter noticeable problems. I personally have had a similar situation. During one of my jobs, I had needed some basic information about the working mechanisms of the transistors in order to present for more than one hundred audiences. I had checked Wikipedia and I got a lot of information. Unfortunately, there was incorrect information in my presentation, for that mistake our company missed the chance of extending its products to other fields and the situation got worst and I had no choice but to resign. Now, when I look back, I realize that the company has experienced an irreversible cost because of that incorrect information. This example demonstrates that in some cases the Internet and its information can lead to a big disaster. It is an empirical solution that to prevent such a problem before use of the Internet-based information makes certain about the correctness of information by validating it using other reliable sources of information like books, and papers, etc.

Taking all the aforementioned reasons, and examples into account, I conclude that Internet is a valuable source of information that is provided by educated peoples and it also sometimes brings problems because some people put inauthentic information in their websites. I highly recommend that the reported reasons should be taken as additional information to be considered by one whose concern is related to this issue.