Some people say that social media has allowed us to communicate in a way that we couldn't in past. Other say that social media destroyed the way to communicate

With advent in technology we have seen humans achieving tremendous feat and milestone which almost looked impossible some hundreds of years back. Earlier only mode of communications were wired phone, but with the introduction of computers and new technology this eld saw signicant transformation from emails to text messages to now DMs (Direct Messages)!

The way we communicate today has denitely affected us in numerous way. It would not be wrong to say that today's style communication has made the world look small and easily accessible. Imagine communicating with your loved ones who lived thousands of miles away in some foreign country in mid 1970s, only way of communication was through post letters and wired telephone. And international calls at that time were not cheap. But not today! Today, you have variety of medium to communicate via. You have social media apps like whatsapp, instagram and facebook from where you can chat and that too free of charge! You have free mobile apps for video call.

All these social media apps are becoming versatile and one-in-all type of platform. What started as a common platform to stay connected with loved ones on facebook, has now become a market place for listing and selling your products. Instagram has ended up being one of the rst choice for the marketing agency to target its digital audience.

Social media also allows you the ease to hold a topic dicussion/forum without the headache of physically inviting each member and holding the meeting. This also gives you the leisure to invite the foreign members with just an internet access.

However its true that every coin has a ip side. Though we boast that in today's world be have come lot closer to the people ( just a click away) but that's 'digitally'. We have suddenly found the comfort of wishing the closed ones on social media rather than calling and meeting up in person. We prefer arguing in group chats and exiting them on being upset rather than having a face-to-face conversation. We are becoming more tech-savy but less tolerant to difference of opinion.

Advantages and disdavantages of the technology or inuence of technology on the human race has always been a debatable topic, with a no clear winner. Though the advantages of using social media denitely outweighs its disadvantages I believe, but it all depends on how the user is making its use of.