some people think that the important role of university professors is to do research; others think the main role of them is to educate students.

Some people believe that the important role of university professors is to do research, while others think it is to educate students. Both sides may have their own reasons to support their views. If I were asked to choose one, I would say that the main role of professors is to educate students. There are several reasons and examples as follows.

First of all, a mass of research isn't just helpful to the students.The research is just part of the education which helps students to understand easily. If a teacher couldn’t teach students well, a vast amount of research would become just a waste. The most important goal to achieve in the class as a teacher is to understand a student, but this wouldn’t be achieved if a teacher lacks teaching method. For example, I once had a lecture in literature classes and it was horrible as the lesson was complex and full of unnecessary information along with bad teaching. So I had to look back in order to understand fully. Thus, it’s more important to teach students than just having a mass of research

Next, it is better to focus mainly on talking than presenting research. As many students are having many classes, they often get tired and lose their focus. so showing information will cause students to be more tired and sleepy. However, keeping conversation with students may intrigue students to listen as it is much more lively than just watching. For instance, my PE class teacher shows many video clips and images related to the class before we act. It was enthusiastic so we waited until it ended without paying attention. Therefore, the class must focus mainly on talking rather than using too much information.

In conclusion, university professors should focus on educating students more than researching their class materials.