Some people think that older children should be required to take care of younger children. Others think that this should be done by parents or other adults. Which do you prefer?

Nowadays, more families are inclined to have more than one child due to the psychological recommendation about negative effects of being only child on children. On other hand, these days, due to financially supporting the family, both mother and father have to work, so they do not have enough time to take care of their younger children. Although some people believe that older children should take on responsibility for taking care of their siblings, others have an opposite conviction. I personally think that involving older children in process of taking care of their siblings is a good idea and they benefit from it. In the following paragraphs, I will shed light on my rationales.

The first reason that comes to my mind is that cooperating in looking after siblings gives older children an opportunity to gain insight into the meaning of responsibility which is so helpful in their future life. Moreover, this enjoyable experience leads to cultivating their confidence and stimulating their autonomy, both of which are pivotal factors in ones' success in their future life. According to the study conducted in a distinguished university, children who have the responsibility for taking care of younger siblings are of more tendency to participate in social activities, also if they choose as a leader of a group they confidently will do a burden of responsibility as a good leader. " It is no doubt that these children are more successful in their future life, particularly in their working life," says Professor Michael, the head of the study.

The second reason that I would like to mention is that children who assist their parents in taking care of their siblings will gain valuable experience which is so worthwhile for their future when they will become a parent. In other words, these children will face fewer difficulties and appropriately deal with the challenges of bringing up a child in the future when they have their own child. Take my experience as a convincing example. Both of my parents worked out of the home for long hours, so I have to take care of my younger sister. Although at first, it was very difficult and stressful, I obtained some valuable experience which helped me in my future private life. I got married early and have to go to another city which was far from my own city to live in. After a short time, I had my own child which I have to look after her lonely. Needless to say, it was not difficult for me to cope with my big responsibility because I had done it before. If I had not looked after my younger sister when I was a teenager, I would have encountered more problems when I became a mother.

To wrap it out, all of the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that if children are asked to look after their younger siblings, not only do their personalities improve through boosting their confidence, but also they become ready for their future role as either a mother or a father. I highly recommend that psychologists encourage parents to shift some of their responsibilities, in looking after younger children, to their older children so that children benefit considerably from advantages of it.