Some people think that they can learn better by themselves than with a teacher. Others think that it is always better to have a teacher. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone has their own preferred study methods, and all of them have their benefits. I am of the opinion that it is better to study alone than to study as part of a group. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, studying alone allows me to focus on specific areas of a subject that I am struggling with, rather than doing a broad overview of the class. I always attend my classes and communicate regularly with my professors and teachers, so I am constantly aware of which topics I need to focus on when I study. When I study in a group, everyone in the group has different needs, and the study session is required to touch on all of them. As a freshman four years ago, I was not aware of this and found myself wasting my time studying in a group for an important European history exam. I knew that I really needed to focus on religious history, but sat uncomfortably through a group study session that progressed through political, cultural, scientific, literary and artistic history before touching only briefly on the issue of religion. As a result, I performed more poorly on the test than I would have if I had just studied alone.

Furthermore, I recognize that I am a very social creature, and this means that when I study in a group I am easily distracted. I am not the only person who has this problem; many people will agree that they too desire to socialize rather than study when in a group of friends and classmates. My example of studying for that European history class is a good example of this. Not only did I suffer from the fact that the we only touched briefly on my problem area, but certain group members (including myself) were easily drawn off-topic. We were quick to make jokes about the material being covered, or make tenuous and meaningless connections between those topics and our own lives. Thankfully I have avoided this problem since then as I have decided to always study by myself.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that studying alone is better than studying in a group. This is because studying alone allows me to focus on the areas that I need to, and because it helps me to avoid socializing when I should be studying.