Some schools now use video games in their classes to help young students (students aged between 5 and 8) increase their interest in studying, but some worry that this can only distract students’ attention from their studies. What is your opinion and why?

Nowadays, education is still the most earnest concern among all countries. Diversified motions and teaching methods have been proposed and implemented, among which using video games in class is a hotly-discussed one. Some people concern that this teaching method may incur distraction of young students. Personally speaking, I hardly concur with this idea and believe it is a fantastic way to facilitate young students' education.

To begin with, teaching courses through video games can help students assimilate knowledge with ease and more efficiently. Since the tactfully-designed video games not only help visualize the abstract learning materials but also inspire the young students' enthusiasm, these students can become more interested in some dull equations and hypotheses listed in the textbook. As a renowned saying goes, interest is the best teacher. If the video games can catch the young students' attention and let them become indulged in the wonderland created by the education-oriented video games, they will be encouraged to do some in-depth research, and the knowledge they learn from the video games will literally constitute a steppingstone for their development and study in the future. For example, I cannot comprehend the interactions of various chemical particles. Some video games vividly demonstrate the interaction effects, deepening my understanding and letting me fall in love with this amazing subject.

Moreover, young students require some emotional support, and video games to some extent can satisfy their needs. The competition is becoming more and more fierce, and students have endured too much pressure from their parents and teachers. The reward system of video games can provide students with some immediate and valuable compliments, which can significantly boost their satisfaction and improve their self-confidence. For example, I was afraid of studying math when I was in primary school because I always get negative feedback from conventional indoor education and exams. Owing to the intriguing effects and designs of some math video games, I can master some difficult knowledge and skills readily. Encouraged by the funny feedback and support, I finally gain confidence in my weakest subject and even get the best score in the final exam.

Admittedly, some parents and teachers express their concerns that video games can easily tie the students in front of the chair and let them become obsessed with the eye-catching effects of the games, wasting a lot of time and energy that can be used on other valuable activities. It does not mean we should ignore the benefits of video games and the side effects can be compensated. It is the teachers' and parents' responsibility to control the time of the students and supervise the usage of video games and related equipment.

In a nutshell, video games can greatly benefit education if we utilize them in a fine way. Every single day in the school is supposed to be made full use of, and this innovative teaching method will definitely be conducive for the young students' study and development.