Your friend plans to reduce his living expense. He has following three options

1. Find a roommate to share the room to reduce costs

2. Buy fewer expensive electronic devices, like smart phones

3. Cook more at home (buy fewer expensive food items and not go to restaurants

which do you recommend? Why?

Facing with heavy inflation which increases the cost of living, an increasing number of people make decisions to cut their living budget: Some people choose to curtail the expense for housing; some people prefer to cut down expenses of electronic products; some people are predisposed to reduce the expense for food. From my perspective, budget cuts on electronic devices is a desirable option.

First, finding another roommate won’t reduce the living expense at all. Granted, the rent for an apartment can be reduced since another one can share the bills paid for the fixed rent cost. However, other fees can be created when a new roommate move to the house: another roommate will also use the kitchens or bathrooms in their routine life, which might double the fees for electricity or water. Meanwhile, the money paid for daily maintenance will also be increased. All these fees will easily cancel out the saved rent cost.

Second, the budget won’t be cut down by cooking more at home. Granted, purchasing ingredients and then processing them at home can save money since usually the price of food bought in restaurants is higher than the raw materials, given the fact that it includes operating cost and processing cost. However, simply buying less expensive items will cause some healthy problems, which might create another spending. In fact, cheaper food ingredients are not healthier than other expensive ingredients and thus people who consume them are more likely to contract healthy problems, like obesity, diabetes, etc. As a result, they tend to pay for some medicine or medical treatments in order to cure themselves. In this case, saved money can be canceled out.

Compared with the two former options, purchasing fewer expensive electronic devices is highly effective in reducing the living expense. As a matter of fact, the price of electronic device is extremely high in that in order to produce them, a company has to hire widely recognizable artists to design them, purchase raw materials from other countries to create elaborated chips, set up factories for specialized production, and so on. All these operating cost will be reflected on the price of those products, making their price higher than other hand-made products. Meanwhile, those high-tech products update quickly, which means that people who desire to keep up with the pace of their updates must pay for them frequently. Take Iphone, the most popular kind of smart phone of the world, as an example, for the purpose of producing Iphones, Apple has set up hundreds of factories locating in all corners of the world, hired scientists to help to develop more cost-effective battery and designers to make it more portable, purchased expensive silicon to create chips and so on. To compensate for the cost, a single Iphone can cost hundreds of dollars which can cover a large portion of their salary. Also, Apple updates their products quickly, launching new version of Iphone every 6 months or even shorter, which means that people who desire to update their Iphones have to spend a lot of money in a short time. Thus, if such expense can be reduced, the amount of money can be saved considerably.

In conclusion, in terms of how to curtail the living expense, buying less expensive electronic products should be prioritized.