It’s difficult for teachers to be both popular (well liked) and effective in helping students learn. Agree or disagree?

Teachers are of vital importance to help students to learn: they can impart numerous knowledge into students; they can offer tailor-made suggestions on how to study; they can target students who need help and thus solve their problems. From my pespective, being both popular and effective in helping students is achieveable.

First, students are more likely to actively involved in the popular teachers' courses and thus learn effectively. As a matter of fact, teachers who are popular among students are distinguished by their teaching methods, speaking style, personalities and so on. All these special characters would attract students to have their courses and hence students are more likely to actively involved in the class. As a result, they can understand the materials easily. My personal experience can be a compelling example of this. In my university, one of the professor was widely recognizable for his humorous speaking style and special teaching methods, using his own experience to explain complex term. These two factors make him well popular among students, attracting many students to register for his class. Whenever he ask questions in class, there are always a number of students raising their hands to answer the questions. By actively involve in the course, those students can learn effectively.

Second, popular teachers can decrease the absenteeism rate and ensure that students can attend the lecture physically on time. Indeed, never do students want to miss out the courses taught by their favorite teachers. In this case, they would always show up in the class and thus assimilate knowledge from their professors. Take the case of my professor, a man who once participated in a debate contest and thus won many followers among students, as an example. During his class, never did any students miss the class based on their fanatic about him and therefore they were predisposed to take every word on their notebooks. Therefore, they can learn effectively driven by themselves.

Admittedly, a vocie arises that a not popular teachers with strict teaching styles can force students to practice much and thus learn more from it. Ironically, students fail to learn much since they were not driven by themselves to study. As a result, even they would fulfill all the practice, they would complete casually or even copy another one's schoolwork. Under this circumstance, learning effectiveness can not bu ensured.

In a nutshell, it is not challenging for teachers to be not only well liked by students but also enables students to learn effectively.