Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Government should put higher tax on junk food to reduce consumption.

Nowadays, governments of many countries place a heavy emphasis on health conditions of their residents through different policies or advertisements that arouse people’s awareness of the significance of health. It can not be denied that junk food contains some proteins that is indispensable for our body, providing sufficient energy for us, and such a fact might mislead impressionable people to generate the opinion that rising the tax of junk food will be detrimental for our health. However, this statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as developing people’s healthy habits, the urge for suppliers to transform their production into healthy food and the overall influence of society are concerned, I strongly hold the opinion that the tax of junk food should be elevated by government.

Firstly, increasing the tax of junk food leads people to live a healthy life. With increasing tax of junk food, the overall price of junk food might be appreciated and thus become not affordable for some people. Facing increasingly high price of junk food, they are forced to find something that substitutes junk food in their diets. They might tend to cheaper but healthy food like vegetable soup, brocoli, carrots and other food made of healthy ingredients. As a result, they decrease the demand for junk food and change their diets that involve something more healthier. In this way, they will develop healthy eating habits with less consumption on junk food.

Secondly, rising the tax of junk food by government might urge suppliers to transform their productions. When the tax is increased, both consumers and producers should share the adding part of its price, reducing the producers profits gained from supplying the junk food. Eventually, producers are urged to sell other commodity that can be more profitable. For example, they might grow and farm vegetables, providing themselves an opportunity to make more profits by selling them on the markets. Under this circumstance, the volume of consumers for junk food will decrease, lowering the probability of cancers or other malady.

A voice may arise that wealthy people will still afford junk food even though the price of it is ascending. Thus the policy of putting up price is not effective over the whole society. Ironically, this statement does not hold under scrutinize meticulously. Given the fact that the new price of junk food is not affordable for most people, they will change their consuming behaviors rather than insisting on buying it like opulent people. Considering the whole society, it actually alter most of people eating habits, proving the efficiency of this policy.