Some students prefer to study and do homework alone. Others prefer to study and work on class assignments with a group of fellow students. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally speaking, on the topic of study and learning routines and habits, a frequently asked question is regarding the preference towards doing homework independently or with a study group. The answers to this query are typically subjective and rely upon the personality of the interviewee, and the following essay shall be no different. Regardless, I will provide the broadest reasons and more objective viewpoints as to why, in my opinion, studying alone has always yielded more positive rewards due to the lack of excessive distractions and the necessity of independence in academic settings.

Getting together with friends is seen by most as a pastime; a way to spend your free time relaxing by chatting with your friends. This point of view, causes confusion for certain people in a more academic setting, where the objective is not to simply unwind and have fun, but rather to study cooperatively and ultimately reach desirable achievements and grades. Therefore, group settings can and will devolve into an unfit environment for studying, wherein distractions and pointless talking are plenty. A fresh example of this very problem manifesting in my personal academic career would be regarding the prep time just before the final exam of a rather tricky course titled “quantum chemistry”. Even though we were all well aware of the challenge this curriculum imposed, some in the study group I was participating in, decided that talking would be a better course of action, thus resulting in distractions for other members. It was at that time I decided to leave and study on my own and as projected, I was able to achieve much more desirable results than otherwise.

The next problem mentioned, involves the harsh but very essential to accept reality that ultimately, you will be alone on test day. It is better to learn to stand on your feet when dealing with a difficult subject so that on judgement day, you will have accumulated the necessary knowledge and confidence to tackle various problems on your own. This is also a lesson I had to learn early, as I would routinely seek outside help on high school mathematics and physics, but would still fail to reach a respectable score on tests. Eventually, I was able to figure out why this had been happening and after some time, I could finally solve problems properly and confidently on my own.

As I have said in the beginning of this essay, the conundrum at hand is a rather subjective one and if you decide to study alone based on my reasons, your mileage may vary. Regardless, no distractions and independence are absolutely essential pros to studying alone.