Some univerisities require students to take classes in many subjects. Other universities require students to specialize in one subject.

Currently, living in the society full of fierce competition, some universities propose that students are supposed to enroll in more diversified classes to enhance their prospects of finding employment. While other universities reckon that specializing in mere one subject is their top priority. Personally speaking, I think students ought to focus on one subject instead of wasting time on various subjects without consolidated comprehension of these subjects and there are a couple of reasons to account for my view.

To start with, nowadays, due to the ever-changing advancement of technology and the sizzling economy, the labor market has a greater need for specialists with the mastering of profound theoretical knowledge and pragmatic experience related with the specific domain. To be more specific, the student who possesses knowledge in different subjects tend to be recognized that they are not able to focus on the projects conducted in the enterprise, thus, compared with students specializing in one subjects, what they contribute to the development of this company is considered much less, which consequently leads to the adversary of unemployment. The research conducted to evaluate the employment rate in a specific region indicates that graduates, with the background concentrating on the targeted domain, are likely to receive 5-8 offers as soon as they send out their resumes, some individuals even attain several offers from fortune 500. Conversely, those students who seem to take an active part in enrolling in different classes perform poorly at the entrance of the labor market. This research illuminates that companies possess the preference on students specializing in one subject since they reckon those students are potential enough to enhance the companies development in their related domains since they have accurate career plans and solid knowledge foundation.

What’s more, since the society is full of competition, all students living on campus also suffer from great pressure, either from peer pressure or from their concerns about future development. With regard to the peer pressure or other stress coming from their concerns, a bunch of individuals, pushed by these stresses, possess tight schedules. In addition to the daily classes required by universities, they also choose some other activities to expand their outlook or enrich their resumes, like doing internships to amass practical experience, attending academic conferences to have a deep insight into the advanced knowledge, making preparation for some competitions to bring what they have learned into practice, even reviewing for some quality examinations to be entitled to enter specific fields . Hence, in order to cope with the pressure imposed by the society, the universities students are already occupied with a variety of activities, which makes them cannot vacate any spare time to enroll in more classes. Provided that universities insist on asking them to choose more classes, they may not only break down under the great pressure from the mounting school assignments but also suffer from physical illness.

Admittedly, requiring students to take more classes enables students to enlarge their scopes of knowledge, besides, it is likely to be conducive to facilitate their individual aptitude, nevertheless, the pressure it exerts on students should not be ignored. Taking the efficiency of attaining rewards into consideration, it is not a time well-spent.

In a nutshell, universities should not announce any policy to ask them to take more classes, since it exerts detrimental effects on their opportunities of hunting decent jobs and imposes a burden on students both physically and mentally.