Some universities have student leaders who are chosen by other students to perform important duties at the school (for example, meeting with school administrators to discuss problems at the school). If your university required you to choose student leaders, which ONE of the following do you believe the best way for you to inform yourself about whom to choose?

-Reading articles in the school newspaper about the views of each person who wants to be a student leader

-Listening to what each person who wants to be a student leader says about important issues (for example, in speeches or interviews)

-Getting recommendations from the teachers of each person who wants to be a student leader

Using specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

In the past several years, college education has gone through massive changes around the world. Nowadays, a student leader, who represents the best interest of students, is becoming more and more common in the university. But how to choose a good student leader is still a question; some may suggest reading the article from each candidate, and others may recommend getting recommendations from teachers. However, I hold this view differently. We should listen to what candidates say about important issues directly.

To begin with, there is no more efficient approach to understanding whether a person is a fit student leader than to listen to their speech. To be a leader, speech skills and rhetoric are the preconditions. A student leader needs to bridge the gap between students and the school, meet with the university supervisor, and decide on fundamental problems of students’ daily life at the school. A student leader can achieve the abovementioned things only when they show excellent communication skills and speech skills. Therefore, in order to have a comprehensive and objective understanding of the candidates’ potentiality, listening to them and asking them some questions is the most simple and precise method. According to a recent study conducted by Harvard University, when asked what the most important quality a leader should possess is, fifty-eight percent of interviewees chose rhetoric and speech skills.

Admittedly, reading candidates’ articles has its own advantage. Nevertheless, it is pale when compared with listening to them personally. People may pretend to show they are competent in their articles and even appropriate others’ work to flourish their articles. On the other hand, during an interview, people cannot prepare in advance and need to improvise their opinion, which can reveal their real sides. As for recommendations from teachers, it is so subjective. Teachers may elect candidates based on their grades or their academic performance. Still, people who show outstanding academic performance does not necessarily mean they can be good student leaders.

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly a wiser choice to select candidates by listening to their speeches for the reasons discussed above.