Students are more interested in politics now than they were in the past

In the past several decades, the world has gone through enormous changes on both a societal and an individual level. The debate over whether students today have more interest in the political field is still fierce. Some suggest that students have more ways to get in touch with political events, so they have more intention to take part in political activities. However, I hold this view differently. I believe students today actually have less interest in politics.

To begin with, students today do not have time to get to know or participate in politics and do not have any idea about the real world. A student who is busy taking countless classes, doing arduous assignments, and preparing for various exams daily, has no time to care about politics. In this compete-oriented society, students are forced to compete with each other under immense peer pressure. For most students, politics are adult things, and their primary goal is to study hard and stand out in the future job-hunting markets rather than participate in politics. Further, Isolated in their ivory towers, students, even some senior students, have no idea about the job they are interested in or the life they want to lead, not to mention the complicated politics.

Moreover, the dark side of politics makes students feel uncomfortable, and they like something brisk. The advent of the internet is a double-edged sword, providing students with a comprehensive and objective understanding of the real world and tremendous attraction simultaneously. Chaos in the parliament has been reported frequently on the internet, making students feel adverse about politics. There are more likely to have some recreation on the internet instead of taking care of politics. According to a recent study conducted by Harvard University, a survey facing students aged fifteen to eighteen has shown that the number of students who tend to vote has increasingly declined in recent years. Researchers pointed out that it reflects that more and more students do not think politics and voting are part of their life or their duty.

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly that students today are less interested in politics for the reasons discussed above.