Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Younger school children (ages five to ten) should be required to study art and music in addition to math, language, science, and history.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the growth stage of children, it is undoubtedly a good thing to learn more subjects. Parents don't know what their children will become, if their children grow up as artists or musicians, then art and music classes are essential to them while their children are toddlers. Some think that due to the development of the society, all students should focus on practical subjects, so music and art classes are useless. However, I believe toddlers need the access to music and art classes cause of these following contentions.

First of all, studying art and music classes could expand children’s social circle. When you have the same hobbies as several classmates or in the same interest class, some can become friends. It's like when we speak the same language, it's convenient to communicate. Also, Learning music is conducive to children's concentration, while cultivating good social and expression skills.

Secondly, music and art enhance creativity, children develop innovation skills when they’re encouraged to express themselves and take risks in creating art and playing music. For example, in art there are abstract paintings, those require creativity inside. Art and music skills can open doors later in life, hence, learning art and music is exceptionally great.

Thirdly, children’s brains develop faster with music, particularly in areas associated with language acquisition and reading skills. For young children, making arts provides opportunities for language development, toddlers could learn words for colors and shapes as they create art. In music, children learn to read scores and music terms. Clearly, music and art classes really help pupils.

To sum up, learning art and music expand children’s social circle, enhance children’s creativity and also develop reading and language skills. Some people say we need to focus on practical subjects, but I want to say, learning art and music could help children on practical subjects. So, younger school children should be required to study art and music in addition to math, language, science, and history.