As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

(1)students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study.

(2)students must volunteer to work in the city where the university is located  or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town.

which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university. Why?

universities usually require their students to do certain activities during the semester break. some people choose to attend courses. These students believe that taking classes will be beneficial for them since it would broaden their knowledge. However, from my point of view, working as a volunteer will be more advantageous. There are several reasons why volunteering is a better option.

First, the community will get a lot of benefit from the development that the student did. The improvements that have been done will improve the citizen lifestyle, hence increasing their happiness. moreover, the students will get a good reputation in the city would land a respectable job when they graduate. For example, when she was in university, my mother helped her local market to established a new managing system as her volunteering assignment. As a result, the market become more comfortable as my mother helped put things in order.

Furthermore, volunteering gives a new activity that the student could do other than studying. As it is called a semester break, students should free themselves from campus life. Therefore, doing some work at the community will give them a new experience that they haven't done before. If they continue to study during the break, students will most likely develop burnout syndrome. I personally experienced a burnout because of too much studying, and it's hard to get rid of them.

Lastly, working as a volunteer will help student to boost ther cvs. As times goes by, competition in the job market is going to be very tight. students have to have something unique to be chosen from other applicants. Haivng a volunteering experience will definitely help them to pass cv screening.For example, my uncle got a callback from all the jobs that he applied to as he have several working experiences.

In conclusion, students should fill their holiday by doing volunteers work. This work will not only benefits the student but the community as well. moreover, student's should do other activities so that they won't experience a burnout.