As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1、Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study ( For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

2、Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. ( For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.)

Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Given detailed examples and reasons. Use your OWN words, do NOT use memorized examples.

Most of the universities have a long break between university semesters. During the vocation, students are supported to do something meaningful to promote their personality. There is a couple of choice: taking a course that has no direct connection to their majors or being volunteers to work in the city. I believe that working in the city is more beneficial for students.

First of all, being volunteers to work in the city are beneficial for students to accumulate job experiences. Most of the Students do not understand how to find jobs after they graduated. If they being volunteer to work in the city during the vacation, they will lay a solid foundation for the future and may have the opportunity to obtain a permanent job after they graduated from universities. For example, students may help local primacy school children with their homework. They can not only accumulate the experiences to be teachers, but also improve their social relationship. When they graduate, the school’s president may invite them to teach children in their school.

In addition, it is a waste of time for students to take courses which has no connection to their major. Most of students would not like to take extra courses, because it is a burden for them. They learned this new knowledge, but there is no place for them to utilize in their life or work. For example, a student whose major subject is math, but he is required to study art in the holiday. There is no doubt he cannot use art in the future, therefor it is just a waste of time.

Admittedly, the course they take may be helpful in their future to some extent. Some students can combine these two subjects to make their work more successful. For instance, my brother is an actor who always show some plays on stage. He took a Chinese class before and he always use poem to present his mind in his performers. Hence the Chinese class which has no direct connection with his major is helpful for his major.

In the nutshell, compared with taking extra classes, being volunteers to work in the city has more merits. I believe that work in the city is more beneficial for students.