Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Teachers and Friends both are part of student’s life as they have certain influence in their life. It is a tough decision to choose who influence the most in their life, some might opt for teacher while other opt for friends. Personally, I believe friends have more influence in student than teachers. I feel this way because of three main reasons which we will explore in the following essay.

First of all, We spent more time with friends than with teachers. As far as I am concerned, the more time we spent with someone, we get more attached to that person. For example, When I was in high school, I have got lots of friends in my class. We do lots of activities like studying, playing, eating together. And most importantly we used to make fun of teachers together. If I was influenced by teacher at that time, I would not have made fun of my teacher. Rather, I would have scold my friends for doing so. The activities we do together among friends get fun and interesting because of the similarities in age between us.

Secondly, Friends are similar to us in term of age and generation. The gap in generation and age makes a whole lot of difference in how we behave, talk, share feelings and so on. Teachers are generally old and they often have hard time facing with student because of age gap. My own experience is compelling example of this. When I was in my university, Teacher used to teach in their own old style: By writing notes on the board and letting student to copy it. However, Me and my friends use internet to learn course stuffs rather than relying on teachers teaching method. It can be inferred that because of the generation gap, the students didn’t get influenced by teachers method of teaching. Because we can think better ways to study and do it together, It makes our bond stronger and our friendship lasts for long time.

Finally, Friends last for long time than teacher do. In most of the school or university, Different teacher teaches in every semester or year. Consequently, We don’t get to interact with teachers for a long time. In contrast, Friend doesn’t change as the semester or year of our study increment. More time we spend with someone means we create a bond between each other which creates a great impact in our life.

In sum, I am of the mind that students are more influenced by their friends than by their teachers because of the reasons: we spend most of our time with friend; they are of same age and generation; and they last for long duration to influence in our students life.