Taking a lot of time to make an important decision is often viewed as a bad quality for a person. However, some people think that is a good quality for a person

Making a crucial decision has been long considered the time-wasting process. Indeed, when contemplating on a crucial decision, people usually spend a great amount of time as they do not want to make any mistakes. In such case, contrary to common belief, from my perspective, spending a great deal of time on making a crucial decision is a good quality for a person to have.

First of all, if a person spends a significant time on making important decisions, it means that this person wants to make his/her decision comprehensive, which is certainly a good quality for a person. In other words, people, from time to time, need to make important decisions which might then affect their life in the future. As a result, they have to double-check that the decisions are perfect from different perspectives, which really takes time to achieve. Take myself as an example. After I graduated from senior high school, I had to decide which college I should go. Because this decision would undoubtedly influence my future life, I needed to ponder it from every angles such as the faculties in the college, the quality of the facilities and the reputation of the college. Thus, taking much time on making decisions reveals that I have the ability of making decisions from every angle.

In the second place, making decisions for a long time also represents a person’s good quality of pursuing perfection. To illustrate more, if a person takes a considerable time on making a critical decision, this person steps up his/her efforts to make this decision flawless. An obvious example is one of my friend, Jason, who is a perfectionist. Every time when he is making decisions, he always spends a large amount of time on correcting and rethinking the decisions. After a long time of repeatedly thinking and correcting, his decision is always so excellent that there are no mistakes. Therefore, this example clearly shows that making decisions for a long time can mean the quality of seeking perfection.

In contrast, there is a common opinion that spending too much time on making decisions is a bad quality of a person to have since it means that this person do not have the ability of making right decisions quickly. However, based on my observation, indeed, a person can simply make a quick decision, but this decision will be full of drawbacks and pitfalls, being of no value. For instance, my friend, willy, who always makes important decisions such as choosing his major subjects in a fraction of second without deeply brooding the decisions. As a consequence, his decisions are always made of faults and defects, causing him to suffer in the future.

To sum up, taking a lot of time making decisions represents a person’s good quality as it also means this person makes decision from various angles. In addition, making decision for a long time also reveals a person’s quality of pursuing perfection. Finally, although some people might view this as a bad quality to have, I disagree with them and think that it means a person is of perfection and has the ability of considering things from different angles.