teacher

The tertiary education has long been center of public attention. Some educators argue that compared with professors and lecturers, advanced school facilities should be given more emphasis. From my perspective, although such hardware like computer centers and science labs may provide some benefits to students, it is the quality of staff that determines a university.

Admittedly, a school equipped with advanced facilities is more appealing to applicants. It is because they are instrumental in facilitating students’ study. Spacious and bright libraries offer students a dreamland for knowledge absorption; high-tech equipped labs witness experiments turning into miracles; and computer centers encourages a self-governed way of learning. However, these factors weigh considerably less when it comes to the quality of professors and lectures.

On one hand, not only do renowned teachers impart knowledge, but they also instill marvelous ideas in their students. To pass on knowledge, a human is no better than a machine or high-tech equipment. The difference, however, lies in the potential inspiration and creativity stimulated by the former.Take my favorite teacher Mr Liao for example. Apart from teaching in the business school, he owned a famous counseling corporate. Whenever he came to class, he raised tough cases for discussion and shared with the class his experience and solutions. As for me, it is not until his real-life cases that Ifully understood those tedious principles and theories in business. That’s something a mediocre lecturer or a library can barely achieve.

On the other hand, universities with star teachers tend to have higher graduate employment. It is not hard to imagine teachers with connections can bring students more internship and interviews. As a Chinese old saying goes, good luck beats hard work. It is especially true in today’s world. Industrious students swamped in labs or libraries would have to face the brutal fact that you need a widow for people to see what you’ve got. A well-connected professor can open that for you, instead of lifeless buildings.

All in all, despite its instructive role in promoting learning, facilities fail to generate more practical merits to students. Recruitment of qualified teachers, on the other hand, deserves more attention and stress.