Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For students who are planning to work in business, learning about psychology is more important than learning about technology. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Psychology is the study of how humans think. As having the skill to understand others in business gives us the upper hand when facing clients and employees, I believe that business students should value learning about psychology more than technology.

First, learning psychology gives businesspeople a better insight to their clients. For example, companies need to know clearly what their consumers want so they can offer better products or services. When handling trade deals with other companies, if a businessperson can use psychological plays effectively, they have a higher chance of getting a greater deal. Therefore, businesspeople must familiarize themselves with what people think for their business to prosper.

On the other hand, psychology helps businesspeople have a greater understanding of their workers or employees. We can often see companies using psychology to improve their workers’ performance. For example, setting sales goals and giving rewards when achieved, or putting workers into groups and compete against each other. They can utilize these skills to boost their workers’ morale, giving their business a better working environment.

Psychology can help businesses get clear idea of what their clients and their employees think. While technology undoubtedly plays a huge role in modern business, psychology and understanding what others think is the key to a successful business. Also, there is an abundance of people who specialize in technology whom you can hire. For these reasons, I agree that learning about psychology is more important than learning about technology for business students.