A teacher's ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being thought? Which one do you think is important? Use specific details and examples in your answer.

Teachers play an important role in every student’s life. We learn numerous things from various people, but parents and teachers are the main who teach a lot in anybody's life. Some think that teachers should have good knowledge of the subject to teach children, whereas, others disagree. I strongly believe that if teachers relate to their students then it will help students to learn better for the following reasons: motivates to learn, make learning enjoyable, understand a topic more in detail.

First, teachers’ ability to connect with their students motivates them to learn a better way and perform well in their academic years. It also helps students to remove the barrier between student and teacher relationship. Some students are shy or feel afraid to ask questions in front of all students. If teachers made such an environment in which they can connect to their students, then they will ask the question and clear their doubts. It helps students to get motivated toward their subjects as well. For instance, I have completed my graduation in physical therapy school in India. When I was in the third year of my school, my class coordinator was Satish Prabu. He used to teach us orthopedic subject. His teaching techniques were so nice because he always uses to tech topic in detail from the beginning. Not only that, but he was also good at relating to each and every student in the class. He knows that I like practical so started giving me assignments based on practical to motivate me in this subject, and it worked. I started scoring the highest grades in my class. Moreover, when he distributes checked test paper in class; he calls out each student and explains his/her weak point, and how to improve those mistakes. In that meeting, even students can ask him question or doubts. I got so much motivated towards this subject that I planned to do master in orthopedic after my graduation. I would not have found out that I can be so good in this subject if my professor did not relate to me while teaching ortho subject.

Second, if the teacher has great knowledge of the subject but do not have the ability to relate with the students then the class will become boring; students will not take much interest in the subject. For example, during my physical therapy education, in the final year, we have to study neurology subject. Sushma Parikh used to teach this subject. She was very brilliant, she had a Ph.D. in neurology, on another side, she was not that much good at interacting with students during classes. I was struggling to understand the neurology on top of that my professor made it more boring for me. She used to come in class and read and explain all the writing slides on the projector. She never used to give a practical example or explanation. She was not good at making class fun. It not only affected me but other students as well. We all had a low grade in neurology exam. It made me one image in my mind that neurology is not my subject.

In conclusion, teachers should have knowledge about the subject, but it is not sufficient. Based on my experiences, I strongly believe that teachers should have the ability to relate with students because it inspires students towards learning, they can grasp knowledge efficiently, and it makes learning more fun.