Teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society in the past than today.

I for one think people respecting and valuing teachers in the society is irrespective of past or future.

I think people appreciate and value teachers based on their knowledge on the subject and their attitude towards the students and society.

For example the students in our class attend many classes in our undergraduate course just for maintaining attendance because of the mandatory attendance rule. But we had a professor in the last semester who taught us automobile engineering. For that class we all used to attend irrespective of the attendance. Because he taught us the subject in a very engaging way. His explanation is very lucid . He was very helpful to us with the projects and the academics. All the guys in our class respect and value him more than all the other teachers we had.

This semester we have another subject in our course that is taught by a professor. None of the students in our class wants to attend his class because his teaching is bad and his class is hostile. We attend his class just for the sake of attendance. No one in our class respects or values him that much as we did the former professor whom i mentioned before.

I think this is how teachers were treated in the old days, people appreciating and valuing teacher's depends on thier attitude and knowledge