Technology has made it easier for people to communicate with each other. Some people prefer to talk over the phone while others prefer to communicate through text messages. Which type of communication do you prefer and why?

Communication in human lives is of paramount importance. Once cannot afford to be casual about it. Afterall a significant amount of human life thrives on the effectiveness of communication. However, the tools and modes of communication have evolved over the years. I am strong proponent of written communication, and I would explore more through the following pragraphs and justify my inclination.

To begin, I would always supplement my verbal communication with a written text thereby summarizing the discussion. This is extremely useful if my audience or the participants have a fragile memory and its hard for them to recollect the specifics of discussion. When you send a written text to your audience, you provide them with a tool to fall back if they happen to forget the conversation, which is quite normal amongst all age groups. Last week, when I met my project team and reviewed the open action items, I noticed how oblivious and ineffective my colleagues were. Owing to a personal emergency, I had to rush out of the office and I could not summarize the minutes of our meeting in an email. The absence of written text induced the situation where we had landed as a team. Most of us couldn't recollect our tasks and even if someone did, there was a cacophony as the team couldn't collectively agree on the actions.

Next, summarizing a phone call or an interchange with a written message promotes trust and professionalism in the social lives. When you take the extra mile by drafting the minutes of your meeting, you send a purposeful message to your audience. As a result, your audience feel the motivation to work on their actions and help your fulfil the objective of your meeting. Moreover, you leave a lasting impression that can reap its own benefits going forward. I was presenting the program to my executive team last week, wherein some of them had volleyed some action items for me. Throughout the meeting I scribbled my notes and followed up the presentation with a lucidly compiled minutes of meeting. As you would have guessed, I received a series of appreciations from the group and some encouragement to take up more responsibilities moving forward.

In a nutshell, if we can communicate more frequently through text messages, we can definitely be more productive in achieving our goals in life.