Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Television advertising is an effective medium to let consumers know about a company’s products. It is one of the fastest options to reach to the customers. Even though it may seem that advertising always benefits people well, these advertisings, however, create harmful impact when it directs at young children.

Children learn things fast by observing things around them. They drive themselves mostly in subconscious mind as they cannot distinguish between right and wrong. For this reason, an advertisement, having a wrong message, which children watch on television, often fill their head with incorrect information. For example, my younger brother when he was young used to believe that eating candy chocolate would fulfil anyone’s vitamin deficiency and make anyone stronger; acting on this false perception, which he got from a Tv advertisement, eventually turn his healthy teeth into full of cavities.

Children tend to imitate more than adult people. This characteristic often leads them to act dangerously. I remember, when I was ten-year-old, I, along with one of my friends, jumped from our one-story building’s rooftop and broke our legs. A Tv advertisement conveyed a wrong idea showing that a child after drinking their new launched juice product would get somewhat superman type power to fly. This crazy idea swayed my childish mind, and without considering the consequences, I jumped and got myself injured.

Tv advertisements are the most likely reasons that create pressure on parents. Children watching Advertisements on television force their parents to buy the products and often time don’t stop crying until they get it. The products sometimes are expensive and unnecessary. Parents, despite having the unwillingness to buy, spend money to fulfill their children’s desire. Furthermore, this attitude makes children believing in a wrong perception of life that they would get whatever they want, and when children don’t get things according to their wish in future, they cannot accept the fact and become frustrated.

For the reasons stated above, one cannot disagree with the fact that advertisements directed towards young children are harmful, and government, therefore, in all countries should introduce laws to ban this practice