Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students do reading by their own personality is as important as or more important than reading assigned by teachers

The debate over the reading students do for their own purpose is more important than the reading assigned by their teachers is still fierce. Some people point out that teachers are more knowledgeable and have a systemic plan to help students absorb and review knowledge studied in the class, so reading assigned by teachers should be taken the deal. However, I hold this view differently. I believe that students do reading for their own interests is much more critical than those assigned by teachers.

Admittedly, books assigned by teachers are mostly masterpieces, and the teachers who give these reading tasks are highly educated; they believe these assignments would contribute to students’ academic performance. However, as an old saying goes, “Interest in the best teacher,” students are motivated to read because they are interested in literature or attracted by a specific genre. If teachers make the requirement of reading, students may have to face the book they have less interest in. Consequently, they may lose their interest in literature and even show poor performance in the reading section of the test, which works against their self-efficacy. My sister Wendy is a suitable example here. She loves reading books, especially science fiction novels. However, her teacher believes reading these books is a waste of time and sticks to her idea that the masterpiece is the best book for students. Her teacher even forced my poor friend and her classmates to read classical books in order to get some quotes or templates for writing tests. My friend started to feel the reading was so dull and eventually performed poorly on the reading test.

Students who do reading independently are more likely to succeed than those who only do reading when the teacher assigns it since they are exposed to an enormous scope of stories and are not just limited to books that contribute to their tests. Nowadays, students isolated in their ivory towers have no idea about the real world as they are busy with taking classes, doing homework, and preparing for various exams every day. In this high-paced society, the stories in books help them to have a comprehensive and objective understanding of the real world and provide them with a new sense of life. A cohort study conducted by Harvard University followed a crowd of students ten years from when they were fifteen years old. According to this study, students with reading habits are more likely to be subscribed as competent by their parents and show outstanding performance in their field than those without reading practices.

In a nutshell, the reading that a student does on their own is undoubtedly more crucial than the reading that a student does because teachers assign it for the reasons discussed above.