In times of economic crisis, in which field do you think the government can

cut financial support?

1) Art

2) Scientific research

3) Parks and public gardens

Some people think that when a country faces an economic crisis, the government should cut its financial support for artists. Others disagree and argue that the government should spend less money on scientific research. Still, others claim that disbursing fewer budgets on parks and public gardens is a better option. For me, I maintain that

To begin with, the government should save money when a recession occurs, and cutting down budgets on supporting artists can help the government save a great deal of money. For instance, during the economic crisis in Taiwan in 1990, the Taipei City government stopped wasting 10 million dollars per year supporting young musicians. Similarly, the Kaohsiung City government also decided to not allocate 5% of the total budget assisting average artists in finding a job. As a result, both governments saved nearly 20% of their total budget. On the contrary, the Taichung City government decided to stop disbursing money on pruning trees in parks and public gardens. Yet, the government only saved 1 million dollars per year, because hiring people to do horticulture is overall not expensive.

In addition, the government must emphasize citizens' health, but cutting expenses on scientific research might make many residents sick. For example, the Taiwanese government stopped spending 200 million dollars on supporting biomedicine research during the pandemic. Although the Taichung City government saved millions of dollars, the research and the development of the domestic Covid-19 vaccine were delayed. Consequently, many patients do not have any vaccine to take after they were infected with Covid.

Last but not least, governments must ensure that residents are living a happy life during the economical recession. Nevertheless, disbursing less money on parks and gardens will make citizens feel unhappy. Take the Hualien County government as an example. Five years ago, the Hualien City government decided to stop aiding Mei-Zhou national park's construction. Also, the government cut down $500,000 on hiring volunteers to clean trash in gardens and parks. Therefore, citizens do not have any place to relax during the weekend, so the suicide rate increased from 0.01% to 0.1%. Two months later, the Hualien County government regretted and chose to reduce the amount of money spent on artists instead. Since most artists are accustomed to living a poor life, the decision did not affect the mental health of most artists. Three months later, the rate dropped from 0.1% back to 0.01%.

In conclusion, I believe that cutting down financial support on art is the best way for the government to overcome an economical crisis. After all, the government must save a great deal of money, focus on the public's health, and make sure that citizens can still live a joyful life during the crisis.