Today's youngsters are more expected to help others than those in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been widely debated whether there are higher expectations that young people will help others more than ever. I stand against proponents of the view that we can expect today's youngsters to help others than before. The first reason is that youth are accustomed to competing today. The other reason is that the youth of today do not make their neighbors a priority.

Fundamentally, youngsters are currently no strangers to competition. Legitimately, what the opposing side argues may seem to have a point. Their assertion is that we can expect today's youngsters to help others more than before. Also, one of the few things they cite as the reasons is that today's youngsters are willing to help others. This may seem valid on the surface, but it does not stand firm against intense scrutiny. If truth be told, a plenty of instances discredits their point of view. Among them my personal experience reveals that youngsters do not care about helping other people. While in college, my days were hectic. This culprit was cut-throat competition for employment. Of course I worked more on competing with my peers rather than offering them a helping hand. Becoming well-versed in foreign languages was crucial. It was also crucial for me to serve as an intern and obtain various job certifications. In prior years, however, students had their choice of numerous campus seminars to guide them in planning for volunteer work. This corroborates with my earlier assertion that competing with others are youngsters' focus rather than helping others.

Furthermore, today's young people do not value their neighbors. Current research results also proves those on the opposing side are inadequate. Researchers have recently carried out an opinion poll which included a question of whether to agree that youngsters do not care about their neighbors nowadays. The survey results show a significant majority of attendees endorsed my point of view. A woman who took part in the research said that when she bumps into her teen neighbors in the elevator, they ignore her. Therefore, she lamented that she cannot turn to these young neighbors in a time of need. The majority of high school students mentioned that since they have never met their neighbors, the thought of helping them had never crossed their mind. This corroborates with my earlier assertion that youngsters do not care about their neighbors nowadays.

To summarize, youngsters are currently no strangers to competition and today's young people do not value their neighbors for the aforementioned reasons. First, competition is not what young people are used to today. Last but not least, It is not likely for youngsters to caring about their neighbors.