TPO-02 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one denies the importance of honesty. Whether telling the truth or not, is a controversial debate among people these days. Although many people believe that sometimes lying is necessary in relationships, in my opinion, always telling the truth is the best way to keep our relationships in any case. In the following passage, I clarify why I agree with the mentioned statement.

Trust is the root of any professional relationship. It is absolutely necessary in order to establish not only your reputation, but also a strong network of people who will help you throughout your life. Relationships undoubtedly are based on trust. If we want to keep our relationships, we should be truthful man. Conversely, distrust leads to the destruction of relationship. In fact liar people lose their friend’s trust. Secrets and lies jeopardize trust and can damage our relationships. Lie and truth cannot easily coexist; eventually the former will destroy the latter. For instance, one of my friends lied to her husband about her former relation before marriage; as her husband found out, the problems started in their life that would not have been occurred if she had told him before. Telling a lie caused her life to end up with divorce. Consequently, telling the truth is the main part in a relationship. As a result telling truth is not only beneficial for the person who is telling the truth, but also for the person who is told the truth.

Additionally, honesty can improve people health condition. Health is a state of complete physical, mental, social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity. From the perspective of physiologists, dishonesty has negative influence in people well-being. Many claims, books, articles in the whole world, independently, believe that health condition depends to honesty directly. As a case in point, a joint study between Harvard University and University of California, Berkeley researchers that they claim dishonesty will destroy people health. They have proven their claim scientifically with the help of simulation by mathematical equations. According to their article, on one hand, telling the truth, being altruistic, acting fairly and being generally other oriented are virtues directly linked to a suite of positive health outcomes such as: better health and physical wellness, lower stress, decreased cellular aging, increased psychological well-being and longevity of life. On the other hand, lying, being selfish, cheating, and engaging in infidelity are associated with a suite of negative health outcomes such as elevated heart rate, increased blood pressure.

In conclusion, honesty has positive affection in both relationship and health condition.