TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having family is a blessing. Family is always on your side whatever the situation is. But the question here is, is it good thing to have a extended family including grandparents, uncles, aunts, and cousins? Different people hold different views. Some would say having big family is always good, while other prefer to live with the small family including parents and siblings. As far as i am concerned, i choose to live with big family and i have the following reasons.

To start with, big family is always more fun and extra love and care. You can plan for some long trip altogether which will be more entertaining, rather than going alone with parents and siblings. In the family, you always have cousins of your age with whom u can share all your secrets and can . I live with my extended family which includes my grandparents, one uncle, aunt, and their kids other than my parents and two sisters. Let us take our example. Last year, we all went to Europe for summer vacation. Although, it was a long flight, but we enjoyed even in that tiring flight. we all cousins were sitting in the same row. we spent our whole flight in playing games and singing songs. Our grandfather was telling his own stories, how he met our grandmother and all, which was very interesting though.The whole europe trip was awesome . Not just that, whenever i need some help related my studies, or any school related activities, i always reach to my cousin. He always gives my best advice and motivate me.

Furthermore, family always go beyond their limits to help you, when you are in real need. I still remember the time, when i was in high school. One day, when i came home, we all were sitting and having lunch. My dad was out of the town for some office work, and my uncle was in his office. After finishing lunch, everybody went busy with their daily routine. Suddenly, we heard my younger sister screaming and crying. We all rush to see her. What we saw that she fell off from bed and she had fracture on her right arm. She was not able to move her arm. My mom was panicking so much, and she even did not knew what to do. At that time, my aunt drive us to the hospital. we did not even took our cards to pay the bills. My uncle paid all the bills for all the hospital expenditures. So, what i am trying to say that having uncles, aunts, etc in the family helps you in your bad situations of life. They will be there for you whenever needed.

In sum, even though some people do not like to live with big family for their own reasons, i always prefer big joint family.