TPO 22- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers have a pivotal role not only in students’ education but also in their life. It is important how they teach and of course what they teach to the students. So it is a concern if a teacher expresses his/her social or political viewpoints to the students. Personally, I disagree with this idea that let the teachers convey their social and political point of view to the students. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, students participate in classes just for the specific course that is going to be taught, not anything else. So, the teachers should only speak about special educational matters because there may be some students with various viewpoints and this can start a nonstop controversy in the class. This can bother other students and all of them lose concentration on the lesson. My own experience is a compelling example of this. About fifteen years ago, when I was a high school student, our math teacher always expresses his own political perspective, especially when we were near the presidential election in our country. At that time, students made deep arguments with the teacher, particularly those who disagreed with him. As a result, they did not pay enough attention to his teaching, they received poor marks and couldn’t pass the course. They would have passed the course if they had not attended those intrusive arguments.

Secondly, in a class may be all students do not agree with social or political matters. These debates can waste the time and consequently, there is not sufficient time for the teacher to finish all required contents of the course. So, this can decrease teacher’s teaching and students’ learning qualities and even decline the school level. For instance, in my last example, near 40 percent of the class students couldn’t pass that math course. Hence, they lose self-confidence and this makes them weak even in other courses. Those poor grades in the classes and even poor marks in the final exams, decrease our school level compared to other schools.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that teachers should not reveal their different viewpoints in the class. This is because it can not only harm those students with the opposite thought but also waste the time and reduce teaching quality.