TPO 29 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays a prime and fundamental controversy about the issue whether univeristy professors must have more salary or not. Some people would claim that working as a university professor is a high ranked job with a high degree of payment. However, as well as I am concerned, I prefer to state that the quality of education is not related to the salaries of the university professors for the following reasons.

The first and foremost reason that should be taken into account is that a great difference between salaries of a professor and an average employee at that place is not fair and may results to problems to other parts of the education system. A relevant example can shed light to this assertion. 3 years ago, when I was a student in bachelor degree of Fine arts, the university decided to increase the salary of the professors and do not change the salary of other hired people. Moreover, the poeple who were able to program for the classes did not do their duties properly and all the students became confused of the scheduled plan for the classes.

The second reason that I prefer to suggest is that the quality of teaching is not parallel to the money a teacher earns. For instance, results of a recent research study at George Washington university illustrates that professors in top rated universities around the world do not stop working because of a lack in payment. Furthermore, as a professor plays a crucial role in science development as much he/she must have luxurious life. Thus, when a professor works better than his/her colleagues, the financial manager must be able to send money to the person's account as a gifts not as a normal payment.

To sum up, I firmly believe that increase of the salary in every business most be related to the efficiency of the employee for two main reasons. first, a huge diverese among salaries of people in the same condition is not fair. What is more, earnings of a tutors of a university is not depended to thier work quality.