TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is the complicated thing, and quality improvement of education is the most vital and interest problem for the university. Various universities are making own efforts to improve the quality of education. To pay more highly salary to professor is one of them. However, In my opinion, this method is not efficiency and universities should not do this. The details of this opinion will be mentioned in the following sentence.

To begin with, professors do not have enough times to improve their teaching. Even if professors receive the high salary, it is in vain unless they obtain enough time to develop teaching skill.

They have a lot of things to do, like research, teaching and doing management of the university. They are busy even at present. For example, The professor who is chief of my laboratory is always working to research, to meeting and to teach. If he spends a lot of time to prepare for class, others will be neglected. Therefore, universities should take measures to improve the quality of education other than the professor.

Moreover, the professor is not professional about teaching. The paramount duty of the teacher is research. They are the capable person, but they have not learned about education theory. The fact that they are the professor does not always mean they are the superior teacher. Some research students are better at teaching than professors and have passion. I think that paying money to such a person is one means of improvement of quality.

Finally, if students do not have the motivation to study, it will be senseless. When trying to improve the quality of education, we tend to focus on the side of teaching and ignore the side of being taught.Nevertheless, education is mutual interaction.

Even if the quality of education is improved, it is not necessarily reflected in the result.

The environment of the taught side is also necessary to improve. Thus universities should consider improving the environment. To encourage students to use TA and to enhance the atmosphere of the study room.

Taking these materials into account, aim for improvement of educational quality in terms other than professors.