TPO-29 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A controversy is often raised about the ways to increase the level of education at universities. Some groups of people hold the view that universities should spend money on labs and libraries. However, some others hold a different view and fell that it is better to spend this money to increase universities professors salaries.From my vantage point, I concur with the latter groups for different reasons that I address in my essay.

The first exquisite reason to be mentioned is that paying more money to professors make them more productive. Money provides a motive for professors to work harder. Without enough money professors can hardly make a living which makes them demotivated, unwilling to work, and frustrated. Thus, this would affect the quality of education students receive. However, if the income is good enough professors would go the extra miles to provide students with the experience to excel in their future life. A vivid example which illustrate my view is the quality or education I received when I graduated from the university. Because professors at that time use to earn good amount of money, the university was able to attract the top educators in the region. This has raised the education standards.

However, there are other benefits of increasing professors wages. No one person, including universities has all the answers, especially in today's complex teaching environment, but the one thing that everybody agrees on is that paying more wages to professors encourages them to spend more time with their students. Professors spend significant amount of time doing research because they find sponsors who pay them money for the research they are doing. By paying them more money, professors may allocated more time to teach students which be have a positive influence on the quality of education.\

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first to cross my mind, they are by no means the only reason available. In fact, there is another subtle reason available. The noteworthy, refreshing, intelligible results of the a study published in the American education Journal which showed that universities paying higher professor's wages have better quality graduated than their peers. This study was conducted on university from different regions to prevent bias.

To wrap up, contemplating the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that increasing professors wages may not only improve the standards of education, but also attrack more students to continue their education to join university staff.