TPO 3: Agree or disagree: It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Without a shadow of a doubt, friendship plays an important role in people's lives, the prominence of which cannot be neglected. Each individual, throughout his life span, meets a great number of people and establishes friendships with some of them according to what they have in common. some people are amenable to the idea that retaining old ties of frienship is in the priority in comparison to forming new relationships. however, others hold the conviction that making new friends is more beneficial and important to people. I, personally, subscribe to the idea that strengthening the bonds with old friends has merits that outweighs the advantages of building a new relationship. my reasons supporting this idea are manifold, three of which are the most conspicuous ones, and I will elaborate upon hereunder.

The most exquisite point to mention has to do with the fact that the more time people have spent together, the more they will be aware of the shortcomings and strength points of each other and the level of cognition increases. it is axiomatically clear that the old friends know each other’s interests and beliefs deeply, which is the direct consequence of experiencing several situations together. it is no exaggeration of fact if I say that an old friend can be as close as brothers or sisters, and helpful as they are in adversities. according to the level of familiarity the close friends have with each other, they can guide one another in difficulties and help each other to overcome the otherwise undefeatable problems. In such conditions, the old friend might be more kind-hearted and sympathetic toward them. As an example, I have an old friend who have been helpful for me during the time that I was struggling with cancer. Had not I had invaluable help of such a close friend, I might not have been successful in recovering my health again.

The other noteworthy point that reinforces the preceding assertion that keeping close friends is vital is that it seems that old friendships are more probable to last for a long time afterwards. it is crystal clear that some disagreements and conflicts are inevitable in any relationship, let alone a long one which has encountered several obstacles in its way. however, the old friends could have reached on a consensus and have solved their problems, in the past years. Therefore, in the cases that a misunderstanding arises, resolving the dispute will be uncomplicated and straightforward. it indicates that it is more likely that they can do the same in the future. Nevertheless, some virtues of making new friends cannot be easily neglected. meeting new people and forming a friendship with them will burgeon the social abilities of a person. In addition, it may expand their perspective due to being acquainted with new points of view. Nonetheless, there is a higher risk of the advent of the problems in a young friendship.

The last but not least reason to mention is that the old friends have more interests in common with us. Additionally, all of us have memorable memories with our old friends which is really enjoyable to recall them together and talk about them. we can spend quality time with each other. As an example, whenever my friends and I gather to see each other, we have quite a few memories and interests to share.

In conclusion, considering all the aforementioned reasons, in spite of the fact that making new friends would be fruitful for a person, a far-sighted person does not take the blessing of an old friendship for granted and considers it as a blessing in disguise which is a missing link in the thriving of a person. it is worthwhile that people keep their old friendships which culminate in a longer gauranteed future. In addition, they can take advantage of the help of their friends in the cases that they are in a desperate need of help.