TPO-31- Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

People say that we are living in an fast-changing society which enables its people to enjoy more than ever opportuniteis and the fruits of developments. Living in one of the most competitve and developed city, Hong Kong, for over 7 years, my experience is that the fast-changing world make today's people less happy and less satisfied then past generations. There are two reasons for this pathetic phenomenon.

First, a world full of quick changes requires its people to change themselves to keep the same pace with the world. Otherwise, it is very likely that those people will be discarded by the world. One very typical example is the career of a programmer. Today's rapid change in IT technology demands every programmer to contribute a great amount of leisure time to self-study the latest technology in the office. A programme leader from ZTE,a Chinese telecommunication company, died from overworking in the office. Newspaper says that the leader has spent over 70 hours per week on average to learn the latest voice-engine technology which will be used in ZTE's new product. Another example is that a world-famous company, Huawei, demands all its programmers over 35 years old to leave their positions because those people's study ability may not meet the latest change in technology. Either you overwork to catch the pace of the world, or be discarded by the world. Judge from the two cases above, there is little reason for me to believe today's people are happier.

Second, people are more difficult to be satisfied in today's world. This is because the world changes so fast. Back to 1940s, most people will be very glad should they have a warm cotton suit in winter. Along with the quick changes in texture industry, more and more cloths have been made to meet people's demand. The cotton is too heavy, so we have nylon. Nylon is not that waterproof, so the world brought us Gore-Tex. As a result, more and more people are chasing after top cloths. People are no longer feel satisfied if we give them cotton clothes in winter. Instead, they will say, "I want Gore-Tex, cotton is too heavy". It is the change in the world that make people more demanding then everbefore, and therefore people are less satisfied.

All in all, the fast-changing world forces many people to sacrifice their time to catch up changes. The world also made people more and more demanding. That is why people are less happy and satisfied.