TPO 33 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students hold different attitudes towards how to carry out project work at the university. While some prefer to work alone on projects, in my opinion, I give my vote to the argument that it is more beneficial when they do the assignments in a team. There are two reasons supporting my view which will be explored in the following essay.

One the one hand, it is usually argued that doing tasks alone is time saving because a know-better one can avoid distractions caused by other teammates who know little about the subjects. Consequently, he is able to focus his energy on finishing the work rather than wasting time explaining principles to or helping other members of the team. On the other hand, working in a team certainly helps students to dig deeper into the subjects. When carrying out work in a group, each member has chances to gain larger understanding and knowledge from the others´questions and answers. My own experience exemplifies this idea. When I was a freshman student, my professor assigned a project to me and three other students. Each of us then carried out research on a specific aspect of the project. Therefore, four of us gained substantial amount of knowledge when combining our findings and passed that class with flying colors.

Secondly, working in a group not only broadens knowledge but also helps students to acquire other important skills. Despite its time consuming, team working teaches you how to brainstorm a matter effectively and how to cooperate with other people efficiently. Besides, an improvement of critical thinking ability is what to be achieved. All of those skills are useful for a graduate student´s future career. My friend is a compelling example. He used to actively join in various team-work projects at the university with an intention to enlarge his professional knowledge and practice soft skills. As the result, he became a successful sale person and was promoted to management level in less than 3 years after graduation.

In conclusion, I understand why a few students like to do assignments themselves, but it seems to me that team working has more advantages because students can learn from each other and develop various skills which facilitate their career.