TPO 35 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Famous entertainers and athletes deserve to have more privacy than they have now. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Celebrities and successful athletes are the major targets of public scrutiny. In my opinion, I completely agree with the argument that their privacy should be respected to the largest extent. There are two reasons supporting my view which will be explored in the following essay.

On the one hand, celebs and famous players catch wide public attention especially teenagers with their daily activities. As the result, what they do during the day will certainly be scrutinized and published on newspapers and other media. Consequently, they lose most of their privacy. On the other hand, despite of their popularity, they are also normal people like the others, having their own friends and family. Therefore, famous artists or athletes also hunger for personal moments to enjoy them with their lovers. My brother is a compelling example. He is a famous football player in my country which means that he is always under the scrutiny of local media and followed by hundreds of his fans. My brother only wishes to have some quiet moments with his family and friends. This example show how privacy is precious to famous people.

Secondly, sport players have to practice very hard to maintain their success and celebrities spend hours on rehearsing before extraordinary performances can be given to their audience. Like anyone else in other professions, those public icons deserve to have more privacy to relax and recharge themselves. Otherwise, their creativity and skills will be seriously stricken. A famous singer in my country exemplifies this idea. She had been followed by dozens of paparazzies twenty-four hours a day and every detail of her life is shown on newspapers. Being disturbed day over day, she had no time to rest thus her performances gradually lost creativity. As such, she decided to stop singing for two years so as to no one will bother her life. After two years of disappearance, she returned last year with her full power and has brought precious songs to the public since then.

In conclusion, those abovementioned reasons help me to put my weight on the fact that popular artists and athletes deserve to have more privacy in order that they can concentrate on their professional activities, creating excellent performances and valuable works.