TPO 42 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People hold different attitudes towards how to pursue their career. While some employees prefer doing diverse types of tasks, I give my vote to the viewpoint of performing the same operation every day. There are 2 reasons for my view which will be explored in the following essay.

First of all, a worker certainly gains enormous benefits from his adeptness as it greatly contributes to the escalation of goods´ productivity and quality. As a result, he is likely rewarded with a promotion or a pay rise which plays an important role in his happiness. For example, there are a limited number of workers capable of drawing two straight coach-lines on a Rolls-Royce car. As such, they are offered substantially high salaries and a variety of perks from the car manufacturer. Another example is experienced workers in Lexus automobile company who are called Takumi in Japanese. They are considered valuable assets of the company, gaining respects from their management and other employees thanks to their unique abilities to assemble the engines of Lexus cars.

Secondly, people may feel uncomfortable being the apprentice of all the jobs they are responsible for and being supervised by their peers all the time. When one participates in a wide range of tasks, he does not excel in any of them thus becoming a trivial worker who needs incessant supports or instructions from others. The situation is even worse when an elder member is supervised by a younger colleague. The old saying ¨a rolling stone gathers no moss¨ best describes my experience. The boss in my previous company assigned me many different tasks like administration, sales. Therefore, I maintained my entry level while my colleague with the same background was promoted to a management position thanks to the fact that he is adept in a specific duty. I was too upset to stay there for long and moved to my current company where I am allowed to concentrate on the sales side. This aspect is one of the factors which are to blame for my satisfaction at work.

In conclusion, I understand why some people are in favor of executing various tasks but those above-mentioned reasons put weight to my view that doing similar assignments is more advantageous.