Young generation have always been dependant on their parents for decision makings in some fields. However, nowadays, they are more capable of making choices on their own without adults intruding. There are several aspects which explains this statement.

To start, in the past, children usually had to take up the job of their ancestors. Therefore, practicing demanded skills to be ready had to start at a young age. They were usually taught by their parents or relatives which resulted in obeying them whenever necessary even if, that was not what they wanted to do. However, with development of technology and culture being altered, young people have a wider set of options and safer environment to be able to make choices and still survive on their own. Their affiliation is much less than it was before. Giving them the ability to dream big and be ambitious even if their parents does not approve.

As well as that, I strongly believe that teenagers and young adults were much more respectful toward their parent's demand in few generations back comparing to now. In a simpler way, they did not usually say "no" to them. On the other hand, this is not the case now.

Last but not least, one of the most important factors that cause this situations is that nowadays, people usually move out at age of 18 because of college, studying and work. Basically they learn how to survive alone and stand on their own. This has a cosiderable amount of affect on their self confidence and stability in making up their minds about open options in front of them.

In conclusion, young generation nowadays tend to find it easier to make decisions on their own and to rely less on their parents. This has been a result of multiple factors such as having a different culture, wider range of options comparing to the past.