TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

The journey of our life is very long. We meet and make ample of friends during this journey. However, we are not able maintain our friendship consistently with all of them. So, we choose to make new friends as we go on with our life. Therefore, I am of the opinion that the ability to make new friends is more important than the ability to maintain friendships with limited people over long duration for the sake of our happiness.

To begin with, as we move on with our life, we also tend to make new friends. Those new friends could be as important as the old friends. The new friends could also assist us in every ups and downs of our life like what old friends did. Thus, I believe we must fortify our ability to make new friends as we never know when we need others help and our old friends might not always be available. So, in this case, I consider new friends as gem. For instance, Ram is my new friend, whom I met last week at the party. Since then, we have always been in touch with each other. After a month, I had a problem as I was sacked out of my job and I had no money. So at that time, Ram lent me some money and he also referred me to one of his relatives’ company. Considering this circumstance, I am really grateful that I made a new friend. Thus, I think making new friends is very significant for us to be happy.

On the other hand, talking about our friendship with limited number of people, we cannot never learn different natures of the people. To learn the different perspective of the people, we must make new friends as we will merely be confined to same idea again and again by being friends with small number of people. Moreover, we can also expand our knowledge and ideas if we tend to meet new people. Not only that, we may also get bored by the same old jokes and companies, which can make us unhappy and our life will lack astonishments.

In conclusion, I believe we should develop our ability to make new friends easily for the sake of our happiness and prosperity. Therefore, contemplating my aforementioned assertions, I present my disagreement with the given statement.