TPO 52 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every new generation chooses different approaches for achieving their goal. What can help all human societies to gain their goals is setting a combination of suitable rules. In my opinion, setting strict regulations for youngsters is a vital task in every society. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, specific strict rules can help young people to maintain the direct path of obtaining success. Youngsters are always curious about new things, and they want to experience everything. This adventurous behavior can result in trying so many bad ideas, such as using drugs that can affect their whole life. Therefore, if society does not provide strict laws for young people, they may end up becoming unsuccessful adults who are a burden for other members of the community. For example, back to high school, I had a friend who was a carefree energetic person who always wanted to try something new — her interest in adventuring led her to become friends with people who were older than her. Her older friends took her to the night clubs, and after a couple of months, she became a drug addict at the age of fifteen. However, if there were more limitation rules in those clubs, they would save her from addiction, and she would become a better person in the future.

Secondly, the stricter rules will provide a more organized society. By the increase of population, every nation realized that if their appropriate set of rules and barriers does not exist, society will become a total mess. In other words, to make communities more disciplined, we have to have strict regulations which they protect society from anarchy. As a result, by more specific and limited rules, we can help young people how to follow the rules in the future, and that results in a whole organized, disciplined, unified society. For instance, when I was a fourteen-year-old girl, my teacher never allowed students who came late got into the class. Although it was hard for us at first, eventually, we learned how to become punctual. Whereas If our teacher did not teach us this lesson, even now, I might be late at my work, for not being an organized person. In that situation, my disorganized behavior put so much pressure on my colleagues.

In conclusion, strict rules are a fundamental issue for every society, and they are beneficial for young people because they can help them become successful adults. Moreover, they can lead youngsters to be more self-disciplined, which results in a more organized society.