TPO18

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

people often influenced by other people around them in many environments. On of these environment is school. In schools, the leading actors of influencers are teachers and other students. In my opinion, students are influenced greater by their friends compare to their teachers for several reasons.

Firstly, students are influenced by their friends because students have similar traits and social status between themselves. students, who becomes close friends, generally have similar age and hobbies. In addition, they tend to spend more time together compare to teachers, which bring about an intimacy and trust between them. For example, when I was in high school, even if I have homework from tomorrow when my friends offered me to go cinema, I prefer to went to cinema with my friends rather than to do my homework. This example clearly shows that my friends influenced my decisions more than my teacher.

Secondly, teachers cannot be a strong influencer in students life because teachers represent the authority. Thus, students usually not maintain a tight relationship with teacher. if they insist on having a close ties with teacher, a student perceived as teachers pet, which is deteriorate their image between students’ classmates. Hence, students tend to behave prudent near teachers, fear them and can not share their secrets with them. For instance, when my best friend brake the aquarium and caused the death of fish inside in school, I protected him and didn’t tell the teacher who broke the aquarium because he asked me to do so.

In conclusion, I believe that students are more influenced by their friends rather than their teacher. because students have more common interests compare to teachers and teachers are a representative of the authority.