tpooo

Governments have a significant influence on our well-being. They can affect our overall progress and standard of living since they create policies that can directly impact our welfare. Therefore, I disagree that It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation because the latter better assist lower income individuals and helps the environments more than the alternatives.

To begin with, public transportations should be of high priority to any government with regard to funding to assist less wealthy members of the society. In fact, students are among the rest of the society who uses public transportations because they are under a great financial burden, but bus and subway services are not always convincing nor comfortable. For instance, in many cities, there are not enough stops or stations to handle the demand, and the ones that exist, are often dirty and overcrowded. Hence, more projects and funds should be used towards public transportation to increase accessibility and replace older vehicles. Although internet services is a necessity nowadays, it does not seem to be a problem accessing internet from anywhere because WIFI is widely spreading everywhere. Therefore, investing in public transportation will benefit the society more to support low income members.

Another reason worth mentioning is that spending more money on public transportation will result in helping our environments. Indeed all these vehicles is harming our medium due to the chemical gases that are spreading from buses and subways. However, rising the number of public transportation will result in less and less people using their own cars to move from one place to another. For example, if public transit were more comfortable with many stops and station that connect all areas of a city, many people will drop the use of their personal car and start to use mass transit. Hence, less greenhouse gases will be released into the atmosphere which will leads to improvement in global warming. Even though improving internet services will improve many aspects, but spending money on public transit will diminish air pollution and therefore less environmental and health problems. This is why improving mass transportation is the optimal approach from an environmental perspective.

For the aforementioned reasons, I adamantly believe that the government should invest more in public transit rather than in internet access. Hopefully, this becomes more prevalent in the future.