In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

It is claimed that the number of vehicles on the roads will be reduced in couple decades. Although the car is a comfortable and suitable type of transport for many people, I dare say that the pollution caused by it accompanied with high costs related to the ownership of a car will eventually reduce the number of cars.

To begin with, the usage of private transport is usually associated with comfortable travelling and the ability to move in any direction, such as the office in the city center or a gym. Many people value comfortable travelling across the town, which significantly increases the number of vehicles. Usually people drive on their own with no passengers inside their cars. For example, a manager may use a car to begin her day travelling alone to the gym in the morning and then to the office in the city center. However, working late hours creates opportunities for those travelling by cars in the evening; this may become the fastest way home in late hours.

Nonetheless, the detrimental effect of usage of private cars outweighs its benefits. The use of personal cars leads to an increase in the pollution level and traffic in large cities, which, in turn makes it uncomfortable to live for public. To be specific, the University of General Pollution published a study according to which the pollution level in cities with population over a million people increased by 32% for just last ten years. To counteract this tendency the Government increased the amount of funding for those plants creating environmentally friendly vehicles such as project «Green Electro Bus» in Moscow factory.

By the same token, the one may greatly reduce the costs associated with the ownership of personal auto, including insurance costs, petroleum and yearly maintenance of the car. To be specific, the National Community of Car Lovers calculated the amount of money needed to cover costs of driving a car and published the result in a public investigation. The results of their research clearly demonstrate that the real costs of ownership of a car are mostly invisible from the first look and in several times may exceed the price of the new car. For example, the new car may cost five thousand dollars, and the costs of maintenance could be as much as fifty per cent of the price per year. The practice of accurate cost accounting will eventually boost the tendency of reducing the number of cars on the road.

All in all, the ownership of an own car has both its positive and negative side effects. The car may act as a comfortable driving tool, but at the same time the excessive driving may foster the development of pollution in large cities.